# **PATUXENT RIVER COMMISSION**



301 W. Preston Street, Suite 1101 Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2305 Phone: (410) 767-4500 Fax: (410) 767-4480 Internet:

Please call Daniel Rosen at MDP 410-767-4577 if you have any questions or comments.

https://planning.maryland.gov/Pages/OurWork/PaxRiverComm/PatuxentRiverCommInfo.aspx

Councilman Michael Leszcz, Chairman Christopher Perry, Vice Chairman

We, the Patuxent River Commission, envision a Patuxent River ecosystem as vital and productive in 2050 as it was in the 1950s. We therefore commit to be stewards and advocates for the Patuxent River and to lead and inspire actions to protect, enhance, and restore living resources and the natural, cultural, economic, and recreational values of the Patuxent River and its watershed.

## MEETING SUMMARY May 11, 2022 VIRTUAL MEETING 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Members:	Michael Leszcz, Chair; Chris Perry, Vice-Chair; Frank Allen, Alison Armocida
	Santoro, Jim Caldwell, Rachel Dean, John Denniston, Luis Dieguez, Mary Dolan,
	Jason Dubow, Margaret Everson, Solange Filoso, Jennifer Greiner, John Hartline,
	Scott Knoche, Erik Michelsen, Diep Nguyen-van Houtte, Paula Proctor, Brian
	Riddle, Matthew Rowe, Steve Shofar, Joanna Smith, Mark Symborski, Hiram L.
	Tanner, Jr., John Tarr, Malcolm Taylor, Jason Van Kirk
	-

Attendees: Barbara Sollner-Webb, John Turgeon, Fred Tutman

Staff: Debbie Herr Cornwell, Jason Dubow, Daniel Rosen, Adam Snyder

### Approval of May 11, 2022 Minutes, Updates and Announcements

The March 9, 2022 meeting minutes were approved. The Commission welcomed a new academic member, Dr. Solange Filoso, and the new Assistant Attorney General for the Maryland Department of Planning, Adam Snyder. Jason Dubow announced that the Annual Patuxent Wade-In would be held on June 12 at the Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum, and Dan Rosen provided an update on the results of the 2022 Maryland legislative session. Chairman Leszcz noted that "Troubled Tributary: Maryland's Patuxent River" had recently aired on Maryland Public Television.

### Draft 2022 Action Plan: Discussion

Jason Dubow provided an overview of the Commission's draft 2022 Annual Action Plan and updates were provided on the Commission's existing Federal Assistance and the Geodatabase workgroup efforts, which are part of the Annual Action Plan. The Federal Assistance workgroup reached out to the Town of Eagle Harbor to offer assistance by convening a forum on federal and state funding opportunities for stormwater management or flood control projects that have been identified as possible resolutions for the issues the town has been dealing with. The workgroup proposed an initial planning meeting with the Town to discuss current possible projects, and which ones the town is most interested in pursuing. Mark Patuxent River Commission Minutes from May 11, 2022 meeting Page **2** of **2** 

Symborksi and Mary Dolan provided an update on the Geodatabase workgroup, noting the information would be specific to the Patuxent watershed.

The Commission voted to approve the action: motion to approve by Chris Perry and seconded by John Hartline. The motion was unanimously approved. Regarding the Federal Assistance workgroup effort to focus on the Town of Eagle Harbor, John Tarr provided an update on current happenings. An initial assessment of the existing conditions within the town's areas of concern has been completed and BioHabitats is ready to begin field assessments. Modeling and testing of possible solutions will be done after the field work has been completed. Joanna Smith noted that the Greenvest project has been accepted by Prince George's County.

#### Southern Maryland Conservation Alliance presentation

John Turgeon presented on behalf of the Southern Maryland Conservation Alliance. The group formed based on the recognized need for a network of landscape scale conservation partners. There are currently approximately 20 voting members and 20 affiliate members. Issues of concern include expansion of the Patuxent Research Refuge and developing a Critical Lands strategy.

### Annual Vote for Chair and Vice-Chair

Since the meeting was held virtually, the Commission used an anonymous, transparent online voting system. In accordance with the by-laws, the successful candidate needed to receive at least 18 votes. There were two nominations for Chairman: Mike Leszcz and John Hartline. John Hartline received the required number of votes and was elected Chair. There was one nomination for Vice-Chair: Chris Perry, who also received the required number of votes and was elected Vice-Chair.

### **Open Floor**

John Hartline noted there was a U.S. House and Senate vote scheduled for the Southern Maryland National Heritage Area designation. He also noted that the MDE spill data website needs to be updated.