# **PATUXENT RIVER COMMISSION**



301 W. Preston Street, Suite 1101 Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2305 Phone: (410) 767-4500 Fax: (410) 767-4480 Internet:

Please call Daniel Rosen at MDP 410-767-4577 if you have any questions or comments.

https://planning.maryland.gov/Pages/OurWork/PaxRiverComm/PatuxentRiverCommInfo.aspx

Councilman Michael Leszcz, Co-Chairman Christopher Perry, Vice Chairman

We, the Patuxent River Commission, envision a Patuxent River ecosystem as vital and productive in 2050 as it was in the 1950s. We therefore commit to be stewards and advocates for the Patuxent River and to lead and inspire actions to protect, enhance, and restore living resources and the natural, cultural, economic, and recreational values of the Patuxent River and its watershed.

## MEETING SUMMARY June 9, 2021 VIRTUAL MEETING Annapolis, MD 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

- Members: Michael Leszcz, Chair; Chris Perry, Vice-Chair; Jim Caldwell, Martin Chandler, Rachel Dean, John Denniston, Andrew Der, Mary Dolan, Jason Dubow, Brandee Glenn, Jennifer Greiner, John McCoy, Tom Miller, Byron Petrauskas, Paula Proctor, Alison Santoro, Steve Shofar, Joanna Smith, Barbara Sollner-Webb, Mark Symborski, Al Tucker, Fred Tutman, Jason Van Kirk
- Attendees: Paul Cucuzzella, John Tarr
- Staff: Dan Rosen, Debbie Herr Cornwell, Jason Dubow

#### **Introductions, Updates and Approval of Minutes**

The June 9, 2021 meeting minutes were approved. Jason announced that on June 14, 2021 Senator Bernie Fowler's Annual Patuxent River Wade-In was scheduled at Jefferson-Patterson Park and Museum in Calvert County. Chairman Leszcz raised the issue of holding the September PRC meeting in person and asked the members to email him their preference for an in-person versus virtual meeting.

#### **Update on Chair and Vice-chair Election Results**

The vote for Chair and Vice-Chair was conducted previous to the meeting by anonymous Special Vote (as provided for in the PRC bylaws) via ADoodle. Twenty votes were cast for the position of Chairman. Mike Leszcz was elected as Chair. Nineteen votes were cast for the position of Vice-Chair. Chris Perry was elected as Vice-Chair.

#### **Update on Baltimore-Washington Maglev Project**

Chairman Leszcz noted that he had received feedback on the Commission's letter regarding the

Patuxent River Commission Minutes from June 9, 2021 meeting Page **2** of **2** 

SCMAGLEV draft environmental impact statement and that some groups had built their responses based the PRC letter. The findings on the DEIS will be available in 2022.

#### **Discussion of Commission Bylaws Regarding Abstentions**

Fred Tutman started the discussion by noting that abstentions and "no" votes are not the same. By abstaining, members could shape or influence the outcome.

Paul Cucuzzella reviewed the three commonly accepted methods for determining what constitutes a "majority" for voting purposes. Complete descriptions are included in his email dated May 27, 2021 and attached to this record: #1 – "Majority of the Entire Membership"; #2 – "Majority of Members Present" or "Majority Counted Towards a Quorum; #3 "Majority of the Votes Cast" or "Majority Vote" – this approach is used by some and only counts the yes and no votes. Jason Dubow provided an overview of Secretary McCord's June 8, 2021 letter to the Chair expressing the recommendation to retain the current "Majority of Members Present" provision in the PRC bylaws.

When considering the various methods, Tom Miller expressed concern that a potentially small number of votes could result in a decision for the larger group. John McCoy offered that the designees/delegates would likely need to discuss with their respective Secretaries before casting a vote, otherwise they would generally abstain. The Chair asked for a continuation of the discussion at a future meeting.

#### **Erickson Development**

Barbara Sollner-Webb made a motion to support Howard County Council granting an extension of the deadline past the current October deadline. Fred Tutman seconded the motion. The motion did not pass with seven nay votes, three affirmative votes and twelve abstentions. The Chair confirmed that the PRC did not take any position regarding the Erickson Development at the meeting.

### **Finalizing the Annual Action Plan**

Jason Dubow provided an overview of the draft 2021-2022 Annual Action Plan, and the members were asked for input. Tom Miller noted that a Report Card would require funding to complete and offered that the Environmental Policy course he teaches could take on the project. He also raised a question about resiliency issues not being in the PRC's Annual Action Plan and suggested adding "compile information on climate change impacts on local communities". Other discussion points included: the potential for grant applications to support the PRC work; the importance of connections to green spaces; and the need for designated sustainability program officers and plans for incorporating climate change at the local jurisdiction level.