

## **PATUXENT RIVER COMMISSION**

301 W. Preston Street, Suite 1101 Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2305

Phone: (410) 767-4500 Fax: (410) 767-4480

Internet:

Please call Daniel Rosen at MDP 410-767-4577 if you have any questions or comments.

https://planning.maryland.gov/Pages/OurWork/PaxRiverComm/PatuxentRiverCommInfo.aspx

Councilman Michael Leszcz, Co-Chairman Christopher Perry, Vice Chairman

We, the Patuxent River Commission, envision a Patuxent River ecosystem as vital and productive in 2050 as it was in the 1950s. We therefore commit to be stewards and advocates for the Patuxent River and to lead and inspire actions to protect, enhance, and restore living resources and the natural, cultural, economic, and recreational values of the Patuxent River and its watershed.

MEETING SUMMARY
May 12, 2021
VIRTUAL MEETING
Annapolis, MD
4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Members: Michael Leszcz, Chair; Chris Perry, Vice-Chair; Jim Caldwell; Martin Chandler; Guy

Curley; Steve Darcey; Rachel Dean; Andrew Der; Luis Dieguez; Mary Dolan; Jason Dubow; Kim Finch; Brandee Glenn; Jennifer Greiner; John Hartline; William Hubbard; Scott Knoche; John McCoy; Erik Michelsen; Byron Pestrauskas; Paula Proctor; Matthew Rowe; Steve Shofar; Joanna Smith; Barbara Sollner-Webb; Mark

Symborski; Al Tucker; Fred Tutman; Jason Van Kirk

**Attendees:** Richard Dolesh

Staff: Paul Cucuzzella, Dan Rosen, Debbie Herr Cornwell, Jason Dubow

## **Introductions, Updates and Approval of Minutes**

The April 7, 2021, meeting minutes were approved.

For the record, Jason Dubow reported the results of the Erikson Development Special Vote via email on the motion to approve sending a letter to the Howard County Council asking they deny any request for an extension in the time horizon for the Erickson Living development to receive zoning approval. The vote was conducted via email on April 8, 2021, and the motion failed to pass (but see agenda item below for more details).

The annual election of Chair and Vice Chair will be conducted by anonymous vote via ADoodle; allowing Commission members to view the progress of the anonymous voting. The slate of candidates is: Position of Chairman – Mike Leszcz; Position of Vice Chair – Chris Perry.

Commissioner Rachel Dean was introduced as the new waterman representative on the Commission.

Patuxent River Commission Minutes from May 12, 2021 meeting Page 2 of 2

## <u>Reach Consensus on Final Letter on the MAGLEV DEIS from the Commission – Vote to Send Letter and to Recommend the "No Build" Option</u>

The Commissioner members reviewed the document and made final revisions. Motion was made by Chris Perry and seconded by John Hartline. With 28 members at the virtual meeting, 15 affirmative votes were needed for the motion to pass. The motion passed with 17 affirmative votes.

## **Discussion regarding Special Vote on Erickson Development Motion**

As noted previously, the Special Vote conducted via email on April 8, 2021 did not pass. Barbara Sollner-Webb made a motion, seconded by John Hartline to reconsider the decision not to send the letter to the Howard County Council. The motion to reconsider passed with 16 affirmative votes.

The Commission then discussed voting on the letter and the concern of some members that in accordance with the by-laws, abstentions are treated the same as a no vote and reduce the number of commission members available to vote in favor to reach the threshold needed.

The Commission members will discuss the by-laws issue at the June meeting. Chairman Leszcz requested Paul Cucuzzella provide a written explanation for the current approach to voting as included in the Commission's by-laws, address the concerns raised by some Commission members and provide recommendations for alternative approaches.