

PATUXENT RIVER COMMISSION

301 W. Preston Street, Suite 1101 Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2305

Phone: (410) 767-4500 Fax: (410) 767-4480

Internet:

Please call Daniel Rosen at MDP 410-767-4577 if you have any questions or comments.

https://planning.maryland.gov/Pages/OurWork/PaxRiverComm/PatuxentRiverCommInfo.aspx

Councilman Michael Leszcz, Co-Chairman Christopher Perry, Vice Chairman

We, the Patuxent River Commission, envision a Patuxent River ecosystem as vital and productive in 2050 as it was in the 1950s. We therefore commit to be stewards and advocates for the Patuxent River and to lead and inspire actions to protect, enhance, and restore living resources and the natural, cultural, economic, and recreational values of the Patuxent River and its watershed.

MEETING SUMMARY
March 10, 2021
VIRTUAL MEETING
Annapolis, MD
4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Members: Michael Leszcz, Chair; Chris Perry, Vice-Chair; Jim Caldwell, Martin Chandler,

Steve Darcey, John Denniston, Andrew Der, Luis Dieguez, Mary Dolan, Claudia Donegan, Jason Dubow, Kim Finch, Brandee Glenn, Jennifer Greiner, William Hubbard, Steve Knoche, John McCoy, Erik Michelsen, Tom Miller, Byron

Petrauskas, Paula Proctor, Steve Shofar, Joanna Smith, Barbara Sollner-Webb, Mark

Symborski, Al Tucker, Fred Tutman, Jason Van Kirk

Attendees: Paul Cucuzzella, Rachel D, Rich Dolesh, Sam Droege, John Garber, Susan Gray, Mary

Kay Sigaty, Scott Templin

Staff: Dan Rosen, Debbie Herr Cornwell, Jason Dubow

Introductions, Updates and Approval of Minutes

The February 10, 2021 meeting minutes were approved.

Erickson Development (Howard County) Discussion

Scott Templin with Erickson Living presented on the proposed Continuing Care Retirement Community project. He noted their traffic plan addresses the new development as well as existing traffic concerns.

Barbara Sollner Webb introduced John Garber and Susan Gray, citizens who voiced their concerns about the impacts to the headwaters of the Middle Patuxent.

Chairman Leszcz asked Mr. Templin for a monthly update on the project, and he agreed to do so.

Patuxent River Commission Minutes from March 10, 2021 meeting Page 2 of 2

Update Maglev Workgroup

Jason Dubow presented the update from the workgroup. The public comment period on the DEIS runs from January 15, 2021 to April 22, 2021 for a total of 90 days. There is a citizen led campaign requesting the review period be extended to 180 days.

Chairman Leszcz suggested that given the information currently provided and the limited time window, the Commission consider requesting an additional 90 days for review, and without that amount of time, endorsing the "no build" option. The motion was made by Fred Tutman and seconded by Barbara Sollner Webb. The Commission voted in favor with abstentions from: John Denniston, Jason Dubow, MDP; Byron Petrauskas, MDA; Jennifer Greiner, Claudia Donegan, DNR; and Andrew Der.