

# **PATUXENT RIVER COMMISSION**

301 W. Preston Street, Suite 1101 Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2305

Phone: (410) 767-4500 Fax: (410) 767-4480

Internet:

Please call Daniel Rosen at MDP 410-767-4577 if you have any questions or comments.

https://planning.maryland.gov/Pages/OurWork/PaxRiverComm/PatuxentRiverCommInfo.aspx

**Councilman Michael Leszcz,** Co-Chairman **Christopher Perry,** Vice Chairman

We, the Patuxent River Commission, envision a Patuxent River ecosystem as vital and productive in 2050 as it was in the 1950s. We therefore commit to be stewards and advocates for the Patuxent River and to lead and inspire actions to protect, enhance, and restore living resources and the natural, cultural, economic, and recreational values of the Patuxent River and its watershed.

MEETING SUMMARY February 10, 2021 VIRTUAL MEETING Annapolis, MD 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Members: Michael Leszcz, Chair; Chris Perry, Vice-Chair; Jim Caldwell; Martin Chandler; Guy

Curley; Steve Darcey; John Denniston; Andrew Der; Luis Dieguez; Mary Dolan; Jason Dubow; Kim Finch; Brandy Glenn; Jennifer Greiner; John Hartline; William Hubbard; Scott Knoche; John McCoy; Erik Michelsen; Thomas Miller; Byron Pestrauskas; Paula Proctor; Matthew Rowe; Alison Santoro; Steve Shofar; Barbara Sollner-Webb; John Swartz; Mark Symborski; Fred Tutman; Jason Van Kirk

Attendees: Richard Dolesh, John Garber, Susan Gray, Mr. Cockrell, Paul Cucuzzella

Staff: Dan Rosen, Debbie Herr Cornwell, Jason Dubow

### **Introductions and Approval of January Minutes**

The January 13, 2021 meeting minutes were approved. Due to scheduling issues, the Erickson Development Discussion was removed from the agenda and will be rescheduled for the March meeting.

### 2021 Maryland General Assembly Session – Bills of Interest

Dan Rosen provided an overview of proposed legislation. The Commission voted to send a letter in support of the plastic bag reduction act HB314. The motion passed with abstentions from Jason Dubow, MDP; Matthew Rowe, MDE; Alison Santoro, DNR; and Byron Petrauskas, MDA.

# **Update Maglev Workgroup**

Jason Dubow presented the update from the workgroup. At the March 10, 2021 meeting, the Commission will be asked to vote on the "build" or "no build alternative" for the Maglev project. Information will be provided to the Commission addressing the pros and cons, as well as the proposed

1

Patuxent River Commission Minutes from February 10, 2021 meeting Page 2 of 2

layouts of the alternative routes.

The public comment period ends on April 22, 2021. A special PRC meeting has been scheduled for April 7, 2021 for the Commission to finalize their comments.

It was noted that there are bills in the 2021 session addressing state financial contributions to the project.

Via email vote in February, the Commission approved correspondence to be sent to the Federal Railroad Administration requesting backup information missing from the draft Environmental Impact Statement for the MAGLEV project. The letter was sent on February 17, 2021 and copies were sent to: Maryland State Senators Douglas Peters, Paul Pinsky, and Jim Rosapepe; Maryland State Delegates Benjamin Barnes, Anne Healey, Marvin Holmes, Jr., Julian Ivey, Mary Lehman, Joseline Peňa-Meinyk, Geraldine Valentino-Smith, Alonzo Washington, Ronald Watson, and Nicole Williams; U.S. Representatives Anthony Brown and Steny Hoyer; U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen.

# **Draft 2021 Annual Action Plan**

Jason Dubow reviewed the draft plan and the Commission discussed the new format for focusing on five overarching topics (a shorter list of actions for the year), while keeping the overall action plan. Chairman Lesczcz asked Fred Tutman and John Hartline to meet with staff to refine the document and for the plan to be presented at a future meeting for a vote.

#### **Open Floor**

Steve Darcey offered to present information on Prince George's erosion and sediment control and stormwater programs.

Barbara Sollner Webb raised concern about HB155 (2017) and the potential for terminating agricultural preservation easements. As directed by the Chair, staff will provide information and include it in the 2021 Annual Action Plan discussion with Fred Tutman and John Hartline.